top of page

Ashburton Cricket Club History

Ashburton Cricket Club: 1935

  • 2016 1st XI promoted to C Division West with a second-placed finish in D Division West. Lloyd White breaks host of club batting records including highest individual score, most runs in a season and highest average in a single season. Will Coon records second-best bowling figures in club history with 8-13.

  • 2017 1st XI finishes second in C Division West, narrowly missing out on promotion. Side sets club record total of 364-7 at home v Plymouth Civil Service and Roborough, before breaking the Devon Cricket League record against the same opposition away at the end of the season, reaching 515-6. Lloyd White and Tristan Wakefield recorded the two highest individual scores in club history - 212 and 172.

  • 2019 1st XI finishes second in C Division West. Lloyd White matches Chris Pascoe's club record for most centuries (8). Will Coon and Matt Churchill both take 100th first team wicket. Rob Lambert takes 200th second team wicket (only the second player to achieve that feat).

  • 2020: The Covid-19 pandemic wipes out most
    of league season but a fine cup run results in
    the club's first cup silverware with our 1st XI
    winning the Aaron Printers Twenty20 Cup!

  • 2021: Ashley Berry retires as 1st XI skipper at
    end of season. Sunday XI win the South Devon Sunday League.

  • 2022: Steve Edmonds assumes First XI captaincy and battle to avoid relegation goes to the last day of the season. Club legend Marcus West breaks club record after club record in racking up 854 runs at 94.89 for our Second XI. Our Sunday XI retain their South Devon Sunday League title.

  • 2023: Our Sunday XI under Matt Churchill wins their third successive South Devon Sunday League title. Our Second XI is relegated to G Division West.

ACC is proud to have produced players who have represented Devon at various levels including Brendon Soper, Vernon Coon, Jeremy Christophers, Chris Pascoe, Andrew Westwood, Simon Westwood, Ulick Burke, Mathew Pascoe, Daniel Griffin, Stuart Tame, Ashley Harvey, Tom Durman and Jake Pascoe.

WhatsApp Image 2020-09-06 at

  • 1889 ACC formed at Varwell Field, making it one of the oldest clubs in Devon.

  • 1960 Ground bought from Major Varwell.

  • Original wooden pavilion in South West corner of the ground.

  • 1964 New pavilion erected in North West corner of ground.

  • 1973 Club folded.

  • 1978 Club reformed by a new group of players led by Fred Christophers.

  • 1980 First entered a league (South Devon Coca Cola).

  • 1981 SDL League Champions.

  • 1981 SDL League Cup runners up.

  • 1984 Club transferred to Devon League.

  • 1985 Devon 'E' Division Champions.

  • 1988 Devon 'D' Division Runners up.

  • 1991 An artificial strip was laid.

  • 1992 A second League team started, losing every game in its first season.

  • 1995/6 Ashburton 'A' Indoor League Division 2 Champions.

  • 1996/7 Ashburton 'B' Indoor League Division 2 Runners up.

  • 1997 Devon 'C' Division Runners up.

  • 1997/8 Ashburton 'A' Indoor Claire Stonelake Cup Runners up.

  • 1998 One of the first clubs in Devon to have own website.

  • 1999 Club rejoined South Devon League (Partnership Publishing). This is in addition to 2 sides in the Devon League.

  • 2000 ACC starts a ladies team and buys a bowling machine.

  • 2001 The Sunday side becomes South Devon League Division 3 Champions, led by Marcus West.

  • 2001 Ashburton A League Division 1 Winners, led by Kevin Nicholls.

  • 2002 Started the process to build a new pavilion.

  • 2002 The Sunday side became South Devon League Division 2 Champions, led by Chris Pascoe.

  • 2003 1st XI thwarted in final game of season by rain at Mount Wise and relegated to D Division West for the 2004 season.

  • 2006/7 Indoor team lead by Ashley Harvey reached County finals, knocked out in semi final by Shobrooke Park.

  • Spring 2007 first turf cut for new pavilion, excavations started.

  • 2007 Autumn foundations laid by club members. Building shell started by Vintage Builders.

  • 2007 Devon League restructured. ACC 1st XI in F Division and 2nd XI promoted to D West 2nds. Tony Lacey wins E West 2nd XI batting award.

  • 2007 Sunday XI (Instant Office) relegated to Division 3.

  • 2007/8 Runners up in the Ashmoor indoor league.

  • 2008 January Pavilion shell constructed and drains laid.

  • 2008 1st XI promoted from F to E Division as runners up.

  • 2008 Sunday XI promoted from Division 4 to Division 3.

  • 2009 club moves into new pavilion.

  • 2009 1st XI champions and promoted from E to D Division. Sunday XI promoted as champions to SDL Division 2.

  • 2010 1st XI promoted from D to C Division.

  • 2011 Old pavilion demolished. Balustrade errected on front and side of new pavilion. Official opening.

  • 2011 Club skipper Chris Pascoe voted 'fair play' captain of the C Division by the umpires. Team also voted 'fair play' team.

  • 2011 Club awarded 'Club Mark' by ECB

  • 2012 1st XI relegated to D Division

  • 2014 1st XI survive in D Division after winning their last game of the season - a relegation decider v Clyst St George.

  • 2014 Club reaccredited with 'Club Mark' by ECB

  • 2015 Regionalisation of Devon Cricket League shifts 1st XI to C Division West with several higher ranked clubs from previous year. Club struggles and is relegated to D Division West.

  • 2015 Regionalisation has little impact on 2nd XI, shifting them to C Division West but with same opponents. 2nd-placed sees them promoted to B Division West.

bottom of page