top of page

Chargers celebrate another superb season!

Over 60 club members celebrated another terrific season both on and off the pitch at the annual Ashburton CC awards evening, held last month at the Dartmoor Lodge.

Ashburton finished runners up for the second time within three seasons in the C West division, whilst the 2nd won 3 out of their last 4 fixtures to finish a comfortable 6th in the F West.

Members were treated to a wonderful two course carvery meal followed by season summary speeches.

Skipper Ashley Berry presented the 1st XI awards by reeling off his annual poem to summarise the season, followed by inviting Will Coon (28 wickets @ 25.11) up to collect his bowling award. Will was closely pushed by fellow spinner Matt Churchill (27 @ 27.48), Arun Karthick (22 wickets) and Steve Edmonds (20). Arun, who had already flown back to Australia prior to the dinner, scooped the all-rounders award with 312 runs to compliment his 22 scalps. 14 year old Jake Pascoe scooped the prestigious captains cup award, who's debut season in 1st XI cricket was a fine one - 321 runs opening the batting, including a sublime 91 vs Yelverton. Berry said; "Jakes enthusiasm and passion for the game has shone through and has adapted to senior cricket as if he has been there for years!"

1st XI veteran Martin Causey then presented both the 1st XI batting and players-player award, once again to skipper Berry for the second year running. Martin stated "These awards only tell half the story in relation to Bezzers commitment and leadership to the club. He is constantly the first one down at the ground on a Saturday to undergo pitch preparations whilst his leadership and form with the bat just gets better every year!"

Berry then presented the 2nd XI batsman of the year to Marcus West who chalked up 306 runs opening the batting with a fantastic 97* vs Stoke Gabriel where he carried his bat. West then proceeded to present the 2nd XI awards on behalf of captain Nick Yabsley.

Robin Lambert once again led from the front in the bowling department with 27 wickets at just 20.22. He was backed up by Freddie Harvey (18 @ 23.39), Jerry Crouch (15 @36.07) and Marcus West (11 @ 29.09). West then presented the captains cup to two of those bowlers in Freddie and Jerry! Freddie, 14, another product of the junior set up was also playing in his first season of senior cricket excelled with the ball, included a spell of 4/16 vs Chudleigh where he claimed 4 of the top 6! Another junior claimed the players player - Toby Pascoe who contributed invaluably to the side including some fantastic partnerships with Chris Yeo at the back end of the season, and never letting the side down with the ball.

Tom Rush then scooped a double celebration as he claimed the all-rounder of the year and the most improved player at the club. The wicket-keeper batsman came on in leaps and bounds, not only with the gloves but at the top of the order as well as he claimed 5 catches, 2 stumpings, in addition to 220 runs, including his maiden half century made vs league winners Lustleigh.

Dan Coles presented the annual duck cup to Matt Churchill (6 ducks) before the most prestigious award of the night was presented to his incredibly hard-working parents, Alison and Dave Churchill. Dave and Alison not only run the bar and keep the players well hydrated, but also undertake all the jobs behind the scenes which lead to the smooth running of the club. Club Chairman Jerry Crouch reflected "The work that Dave and Alison put in is invaluable. The bar is always stocked, the clubhouse is always looking tidy and knowing that they are always there for the club is fantastic. The club are very fortunate to have such hard-working assets and their award is much deserved."

The club would also like to thank The Dartmoor Lodge for hosting us for the evening and for putting on some wonderful food.

List of award winners;

1st XI Batsman of the Year - Ashley Berry 1st XI Bowler of the Year - William Coon 1st XI Captains Cup - Jake Pascoe 1st XI Players Player - Ashley Berry 1st XI All-rounder - Arun Chelvan

2nd XI Batsman of the Year - Marcus West 2nd XI Bowler of the Year - Robin Lambert 2nd XI Captains Cup - Jerry Crouch and Freddie Harvey 2nd XI Players Player - Toby Pascoe 2nd XI All-rounder- Tom Rush Most Improved Player 2019 - Tom Rush

Duck Cup - Matt Churchill - (6 ducks)

Chairmans Award (Clubman of the Year) - Alison and Dave Churchill

Crates of beer and flowers were presented to all those who work tirelessly behind the scenes and help with officiating; Jean and Megan Pascoe, Vernon Coon, Steve and Mel Harvey, Alan Churchill, Jerry Crouch, Alison & Dave Churchill.

77 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page