top of page


Ashburton first team entertained Bridestowe on a wet and windy day at The Varwell. Skipper Ash Berry won the toss and had little hesitation in bowling first with showers around.

However the Ashburton attack struggled to hit their lines and lengths in the blustery conditions and Bridestowe raced to 40 inside 7 overs before a rain delay which saw the contest reduced to 36 overs a side.

After the delay Rob Lambert (1 for 44) dismissed Mark Fogerty (32). A further short rain delay reduced the allocation to 34 overs per side before James Ewen (42) and Jack Hatton (36) took the score to 115. Matt Churchill (4 for 48) picked up wickets as Bridestowe were reduced to 147 for 5 before some lusty blows from Ryan Dennis (42) and Patrick Ewen (24) got the score up to 221. Dom Durman was then re-introduced into the attack and took a hat-trick to finish with 3 for 39 as Bridestowe were dismissed for 221 with 4 balls of their 34 over allocation remaining.

Ashburton's reply started positively as Lloyd White (15), Kevin Nicholls (15) and Ash Berry (23) got them to 51 for 1 in good time. However wickets then tumbled regularly as the asking rate climbed and this quickly became 85 for 8. Chris Yeo (35no) batted superbly to get Ashes up to 131 all out for an extra batting point before he ran out of partners. Matt Dennis finished with 4 for 18 and Alex Jopling 3 for 27 for Bridestowe.

Matt Churchill (4 for 48)

Dom Durman (3 for 39 including a hat trick)

Ashburton seconds travelled to Shaldon seconds and elected to field first. Despite tidy opening spells from George Marshall (8 overs, 0 for 23) and Marcus West (8 overs, 1 for 23) Shaldon accelerated to an imposing final total of 258 for 4 in their 40 overs. The other Ashburton wicket takers were Jerry Crouch, Harvey Field and Ashton West.

In reply only Marcus West (61) and Nick Yabsley (33) made scores of note as Ashburton were all out for 151 in 34 overs.

24 views0 comments
bottom of page