top of page

Saturday 31 July 2021 - Devon League Match Reports

Ashburton first team entertained Plymouth seconds on Saturday. Skipper Ash Berry won the toss and asked the hosts to have a bat on a track that was still slightly damp.

Steve Edmonds made the first breakthrough with the score on 21 when he trapped Jason Degg LBW for 10. Shortly after George Yabsley deflected the ball onto the stumps at the non-strikers end in his follow through to dismiss the dangerous James Toms, also for 10.

Plymouth skipper John Kerridge and Teddy Haffenden (12) took the score to 62 without further mishap before the introduction of Chris Yeo (9 overs, 3 for 26) and Matt Coon (9 overs, 2 for 23) into the attack saw a flurry of wickets at one end whilst Kerridge was accumulating runs at the other.

Matt Churchill then came on and removed Kerridge for 40 clinging on to a sharp caught and bowled chance and bagged a couple further wickets on his way to figures of 4.5 overs, 3 for 14 as Plymouth were all out for 114 with 8.1 overs of their innings remaining.

The Ashes reply was led by opener Lloyd White (31). Dan Coles chipped in with 14 as the score reached 58 for 2. A mid innings collapse then saw Ashes reduced to 87 for 7 as Kerridge (2 for 23) and Haffenden (2 for 17) bowled Plymouth back into the game. George Yabsley (25no) and Chris Yeo (15no) ensured no further scares as the target was reached in the 38th over.

After the game skipper Berry said "Both teams bowled and fielded very well in a low scoring event, but we had just enough to get past a tough opposition. Like all season we're just taking one game at a time".

Chris Yeo in action in Saturday's game versus Plymouth (credit Julian Preston)

Ashburton second team travelled to play Ipplepen thirds and emerged with a 39 run victory.

After winning the toss and electing to bat they reached 186 for 2 in their 40 overs. Phil Pascoe and son Toby Pascoe added 113 for the second wicket before Phil was dismissed for 65. Marcus West (37no) then helped add a further 73 as Toby finished unbeaten on a fine 64, his maiden league half century.

The Ipplepen reply was led by opener Owen Sutton (66) but wickets fell at regular intervals to Luke Pascoe (8 overs, 3 for 17) and Robin Lambert (8 overs, 3 for 18). Sutton was the ninth wicket to fall as he was caught and bowled by Sam Higgs and then Ashton West (2 for 46) wrapped up the innings as Ipplepen were all out for 147 in the 38th over.

70 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Dartanians vs East Prawle: Match Report

Match report, by Rich Chatfield; Yesterday we entertained our good friends from East Prawle at the I must say a stunning Ashburton setting, ( on a couple of occasions I found my self thinking how luck


bottom of page